Pop Rap R&B Rock Country Latin Underground Reggae Electronic Elements Community
Kanye West, Lil Jon Top Source Awards
Posted on: October 11, 2004 03:12 MST
Filed under: Rap

kanye west

Kanye West and Lil Jon each took home three prizes from yesterday's (Oct. 10) Source Hip-Hop Music Awards in Miami. The show, held at the city's James L. Knight Center, was taped for Nov. 30 broadcast on BET.

West, who was nominated for seven honors, won awards for breakthrough artist of the year, album of the year for his Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam debut, "The College Dropout," and video of the year for "Through the Wire," which he starred in and co-directed. He led all nominees with seven.

Along with Usher and Ludacris, Lil Jon won in the R&B/rap collaboration category for Usher's anthem "Yeah!" which he produced. He also took home awards for collaborating with the group Youngbloodz on the single "Damn," and for producer of the year.

Ludacris won the male solo rap artist of the year, while the Ying Yang Twins won the rap group award. Chingy's catchy "Right Thurr" won single of the year by a solo artist and remix of the year, while Terror Squad won for group single of the year and best female rap collaboration with Remy Ma for the hit "Lean Back."

In R&B categories, Usher was named male artist of the year, and Alicia Keys won female artist of the year.

In a contentious election year, the power of hip-hop in politics played a part before and during the Source Awards. On Saturday, rappers Fat Joe, Ja Rule and Ludacris headlined a get out the vote rally with Al Sharpton and Nation of Islam founder Minister Louis Farrakhan at the Miami Arena.

During yesterday's ceremony, Source co-owners David Mays and Benzino joined hip-hop moguls Russell Simmons and Suge Knight to present a special award to Farrakhan. In accepting, Farrakhan told the audience, "Even though you bling-bling, you know beneath the diamonds, beneath the platinum there is an idealism in young people that you want change in America, and change in the world.''

Below are the winners of the 2004 Source Hip-Hop Music Awards, handed out Oct. 10 in Miami at the James L. Knight Center; was taped for Nov. 30 broadcast on BET.

Artist of the year - male solo: Ludacris

Artist of the year - group: Ying Yang Twins

Breakthrough artist of the year: Kanye West

Single of the year - solo artist: "Right Thurr," Chingy, produced by the Track Starz

Single of the year - group: "Lean Back," Terror Squad, produced by Scott Storch

Single of the year - collaboration: "Damn," Youngbloodz featuring Lil Jon, produced by Lil Jon

R&B/Rap collaboration of the year: "Yeah!," Usher featuring Lil Jon and Ludacris, produced by Lil Jon

Best female rap collaboration: "Lean Back," Terror Squad and Remy Ma, produced by Scott Storch

Fat tape song of the year: "Clap Back," Ja Rule produced by Scott Storch

Remix of the year: "Right Thurr," Chingy featuring Trina and JD, produced by the Track Starz

Album of the year: "The College Dropout" (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam), Kanye West

Lyricist of the year: Jay-Z

Dancehall/Reggae artist of the year: Elephant Man

Producer of the year: Lil Jon

R&B artist of the year - male: Usher

R&B artist of the year - female: Alicia Keys

Video of the year: "Through The Wire," Kanye West, directed by Coodie and Kanye West

Independent album of the year: "Konexion" (BBE/Rapster), Freddie Foxxx

International artist of the year: Tego Calderon (Puerto Rico)

Best acting in a movie by a rapper: "Shottas," Spragga Benz

Source: Billboard
See Also:

Post to del.icio.usdel.icio.us Post to redditreddit Stumble It!Stumble It! Post to BlinklistBlinklist

MTS Centre, Winnipeg - May 26, 2008

Trina Introduces Pink Diamond Clothing, Launches Website

Xzibit's Newborn Son Passes Away Suddenly

The Story Behind Kanye's "Flashing Lights"

Tony Yayo Doles Out Props To Lil' Wayne

Combs Turns Screenwriter

Festival Postponed Over 'Snoop Dogg Gang Violence'

Teenager Who Murdered Juvenile's Daughter Indicted


Home | Contact Us | Community | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service
Copyright 1995-2019 HipHop-Elements.com. All rights reserved.