Pop Rap R&B Rock Country Latin Underground Reggae Electronic Elements Community
Bad Religion: 'New Maps Of Hell' Reissue To Include Bonus Material
Source: blabbermouth
Posted on: May 6, 2008 08:28 MST
Filed under: Rock

bad religion

The revered punk band BAD RELIGION is set to reissue last year's acclaimed "New Maps of Hell" with expanded features and bonus material on July 8. Lifelong dissenters and noted critics of the current administration (2004's "The Empire Strikes First" was a direct critique of Bush's pre-emptive policy), the band's 15th release ironically, but coincidentally, comes out just days after the 4th of July.

The deluxe version of "New Maps of Hell" includes the original 16-song CD, along with seven new acoustic tracks recorded by principal songwriters Greg Graffin (vocals) and Brett Gurewitz (guitars). Three of the acoustic songs are new, written specifically for this release; the other four tracks are new acoustic versions of BR classics such as 2004's hit song "Sorrow" and the perennial favorite "Skyscraper". Graffin and Gurewitz formed the idea of recording the EP to illustrate how they write songs: generally writing a song on just an acoustic guitar or piano, and then crafting it into the electrified scorchers they ultimately become later with the band.

Additionally, the release includes a DVD with an hour-long live performance that has never been seen before, along with music videos for "New Maps of Hell"'s two singles "Honest Goodbye" and "New Dark Ages", behind-the-scenes footage of Brett and Greg during the recording of the acoustic EP and more.

The all-new packaging pays homage to the band's hometown of Los Angeles, but unmasks the city with a gritty reality not usually associated with Tinseltown. Shot in the striking format of high dynamic range photography by local fine arts photographer Dave Bollock, the deluxe release also features a booklet of Bollock's work entitled "New Maps of Hell - City of Angels" and classic BAD RELIGION posters.

Voted THE "Old School Band who Still Rock" by Alternative Press readers, BAD RELIGION are giving back to the fans who have supported them in their over two-decade long career with "New Maps of Hell" deluxe edition.

"New Maps of Hell" (Deluxe Edition) - Disc 1 (CD):

01. 52 Seconds - 0:58
02. Heroes & Martyrs - 1:26
03. Germs of Perfection - 1:28
04. New Dark Ages - 2:48
05. Requiem for Dissent - 2:08
06. Before You Die - 2:35
07. Honest Goodbye - 2:52
08. Dearly Beloved - 2:20
09. Grains of Wrath - 3:01
10. Murder - 1:19
11. Scrutiny - 2:37
12. Prodigal Son - 3:08
13. The Grand Delusion - 2:11
14. Lost Pilgrim - 2:28
15. Submission Complete - 3:41
16. Fields of Mars - 3:38

Acoustic Tracks

17. Won't Somebody - 3:08
18. Adam's Atoms - 2:37
19. Sorrow - 3:12
20. God Song - 2:40
21. Dearly Beloved - 2:37
22. Chronophobia - 1:55
23. Skyscraper - 3:00

"New Maps of Hell" (Deluxe Edition) - Disc 2 (DVD):

* The Making of The Acoustic EP
* Myspace and The List Present Bad Religion Live In Las Vegas
* "New Dark Ages" Music Video
* "Honest Goodbye" Music Video
* The Making of "New Maps of Hell" EPK 


Post to del.icio.usdel.icio.us Post to redditreddit Stumble It!Stumble It! Post to BlinklistBlinklist

Sam Roberts gets back to basics

Oasis Star Gallagher Is Car Hero

Report: AC/DC's Music 'Encourages Macho Posturing And Aggressive Behavior'

Hagar Rules Out Van Halen Reunion Until Eddie Is Sober

Brian Wilson Returns To Capitol For New Album

Specials Star Hall Struggling With Lyrics

Camp Freddy Rock On With Tiffany & Morello

Weezer unveil 'Pork And Beans' video


Home | Contact Us | Community | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service
Copyright 1995-2018 HipHop-Elements.com. All rights reserved.