Pop Rap R&B Rock Country Latin Underground Reggae Electronic Elements Community
Massive Attack take on Meltdown
Contributed by: Rosie Swash
Source: guardian.co.uk
Posted on: February 14, 2008 07:47 MST
Filed under: Electronic

Massive Attack

The members of infuential trip-hop group Massive Attack have been announced as artistic directors of this year's Meltdown festival.

The band, made up of Robert Del Naja and Grantley Marshall, have amassed a dizzying series of collaborators since they were first formed in Bristol in 1988, and their nine-day occupancy of the South Bank promises to be equally diverse. Over the course of 20 years, four studio albums and countless changes in line-up they have worked with talents such as Madonna, Horace Andy, Tricky, Tracey Thorn, Elizabeth Fraser and Luc Besson.

 "We want this year's festival to have a strong political and visual element to it to reflect our influences and obsessions," the band said in a statement released today.

"Our aim is to mix it up a bit by instigating collaborations that make sense and probably some that don't."

The band follow in the footsteps of John Peel, Robert Wyatt, Scott Walker, David Bowie, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Morrissey, Patti Smith and Jarvis Cocker, all of whom have been responsible for curating the Meltdown festival in past years.

The band will takeover London's South Bank centre for nine days of music and live performance between Saturday 14th and Sunday 22nd June 2008. A full line-up is expected to be announced soon, click here for more.

See Also:

Post to del.icio.usdel.icio.us Post to redditreddit Stumble It!Stumble It! Post to BlinklistBlinklist

Watch Out! Hot Footie Chicks in Alex Gaudino Video Game Twist

DJ AK1200 is the man behind the beats

Fatboy Slim denies identity change

Fatboy Slim is no more

Portishead's Album THIRD Debuts at #7 on Billboard

Beck/Danger Mouse album set for summer release

Hot Chip 'free downloads hurt small bands'

DJs To Descend On Washington For Million DJ March


Home | Contact Us | Community | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service
Copyright 1995-2019 HipHop-Elements.com. All rights reserved.